Q: The insurance company of the driver who hit me says I have to use my own insurance before they will pay anything. I have a huge deductible. What do I do?

A: If the victim of an accident is a pedestrian, the insurance company of the driver who hit you is going to be responsible for paying the medical expenses. In New York State, the No-Fault law allows for speedy compensation to drivers, passengers and pedestrians for basic economic loss. That includes medical expenses, 80% of […]

Q: I was hit by an uninsured driver. What do I do?

A: In New York, if you are injured by an uninsured driver, you may file a claim with the insurer of a household family relative who had an auto policy at the time of the accident. New York drivers are required to have valid insurance upon a vehicle for it to be registered.  If the vehicle that […]

Q: How do I know who is at fault in an accident?

A: Determining who is at fault in an accident is often an undertaking of attorneys hired by the people involved with the accident. Evidence can include photos and videos of the incident; measurements to determine speed, trajectories and distances; records of weather, light and visibility at the time of the incident; eyewitness testimony and police […]

Q: What insurance coverages are drivers required to have?

A: In New York State, insurance coverages of $10,000 is required for property damages for a single accident; $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death for a person involved in an accident; For two or more people involved in an accident: $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death. Often drivers carry more than […]